J. N. Williamson

Jerry Neal Williamson (April 17, 1932 – December 8, 2005) was an American author of horror fiction. His first novel The Ritual was published in 1979. Serving under Dean Koontz as president, Williamson became the first secretary of the newly formed Horror Writers of America in 1987.

Williamson was a prolific writer, particularly during the horror boom of the 1980s. In an interview with Steve Gerlach, Williamson said he was publishing a novel a month in 1981 and part of 1982. Although I can’t say for sure, every bibliography I have seen of Williamson’s work seems to be missing some titles. It’s safe to say that Williamson published about 50 horror novels in his lifetime, over 100 short stories, and edited several anthologies, including the acclaimed Masques series. His novella The Night Seasons was nominated for a World Fantasy Award in 1987. He later expanded the story into a novel published by Zebra in 1991. The Horror Writers Association gave him the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2003.  He died in 2005 in Noblesville, Indiana.

To view a list of titles currently available, click here.

These scans are from the library of Christopher Fulbright.


Spotted in the Wild

One thought on “J. N. Williamson

  1. I’ve only read a couple of Williamson’s books but I knew he was prolific — but even I didn’t know he was THAT prolific. It’s possible he published under pseudonyms as well and perhaps did work in other genres? Our paths never crossed — I only knew him as another Leisure author. Sorry to hear he’s passed on.

Leave a Reply