Dennis Etchison

EtchisonDennis_AuthorPhotoDennis Etchison is an American writer of horror and suspense. He is the author of 11 novels, several short story collections, and edited a number of anthologies between 1986 and 2003.  Many respected authors of horror and suspense have lauded Etchison as one of the greatest short story writers in the genre.  His debut collection, The Dark Country, won the World Fantasy Award and the British Fantasy Award for Best Collection of the Year in 1982. He had been writing professionally for over 20 years by then, with publishing credits in a staggering number of well regarded publications, such as Cavalier, Seventeen, Fantastic Stories, Mike Shayne’s Mystery Magazine, The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Whispers and others. His stories appeared in almost all of the major horror and dark fantasy anthologies throughout the 1980s, including the landmark anthology Dark Forces, Year’s Best Horror Stories, Shadows, Nightmares, and more. He wrote movie novelizations of John Carpenter’s The Fog and David Cronenberg’s Videodrome, plus Halloween II and Halloween III under the pen name Jack Martin. Etchison also wrote for radio and television, serving as staff writer for the HBO TV series The Hitchhiker in the mid-1980s. Etchison is an unabashed fan of professional wrestling and lives in California.

To view a list of his novels and stories available in print and ebook formats, please click here.

These cover scans are from the library of author Christopher Fulbright. The artwork on the hardcover editions of The Dark Country, Red Dreams, and The Death Artist is by J.K. Potter.


Leave a Reply