March 29, 2023

Twilight: Where Darkness Begins

In the early 1980s, Dell launched the Twilight series with the tag line “Where Darkness Begins” as a counterpoint to Bantam’s popular Dark Forces series. The series included 26 books and ran from 1982 to 1987. A complete list of books in the series, in the order they were published, is online here. Two notable books from this series are Nightmare Lake by Richard Laymon writing as Carl Laymon, and Richie Tankersley Cusik’s Evil on the Bayou, which was her first published novel before she went on to write YA thrillers for Archway and the Point Thriller line.

These cover scans are from the library of Christopher Fulbright. Please note that Realms of Night has an eBay page with monthly horror auctions. Follow our page and save us as a favorite seller for updates.

To browse the list of Twilight: Where Darkness Begins titles currently available on Amazon, click here.

Christopher Fulbright

Christopher Fulbright is the author of short stories, novellas, and full-length novels of fantasy and horror. His short stories have appeared in many venues--webzines, magazines, and anthologies--since 1993. Fulbright received the Richard Laymon President's Award in 2008 from the HWA, and his short stories have received honorable mentions in "The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror" and "Best Horror of the Year." He is a former journalist turned technical writer, an unrepentant horror fan, and owner/webmaster of Realms of Night.

View all posts by Christopher Fulbright →

5 thoughts on “Twilight: Where Darkness Begins

    1. Hi Christopher! Hi Kelly!
      Firstly, this website is a dream come true for me Christopher, being a huge horror fan since I started reading way back in 1983. The information and the scans are really, really appreciated.
      Kelly, I am also a huge Twilight – Where Darkness Begins series fan. I have some of the books within the series but am also missing some. I was wondering if you would be able to somehow scan some of them through to me (covers and contents)
      so I could read the ones I haven’t read, please. They are very difficult to get a hold of physically here in Australia. Anything you could do would be greatly appreciated.
      Take care, both of you.

      Gabi Porcz

  1. Thanks for the information on this stuff. When I was a wee one and reading/buying this stuff, I cared nothing about Publishers or imprint lines. Now I’m curious but it’s hard to find as much easy to obtain information on some of this. Appreciated!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: